10-06 Portuguese language day

The Portuguese language, also called only Portuguese, Galician-Portuguese originated in. It is the fifth most spoken language in the world, and has approximately 260 million speakers. It is still the third most spoken language in the southern hemisphere of the Earth.

The Portuguese language speaking countries:

  • Brazil
  • Mozambique
  • Angola
  • Portugal
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Timor-Leste
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Macau
  • Cape Verde
  • São Tomé and Príncipe

São Paulo is the city with the largest number of Portuguese speakers in the world, so it was the place chosen for the Foundation of the Museum of the Portuguese language.